The Sugar Sweetened Beverage (SSB) Community advisory board

SSB Community Advisory Board.


The tax took eff ect on July 1, 2017; the mayor and city council appointed a nine-member Soda Tax Advisory Board. The members are:

  • Gema Cardenas
  • Donna Carey
  • Jared Fine
  • Julia Liou
  • Tonya Love
  • Kim Martinez
  • Renia Webb
  • Priscilla Wilson
  • Esperanza Pallana

The Soda Tax Advisory Board will be responsible for:

  1. Making recommendations to the City Council on creating and/or funding programs that prevent or reduce the health consequences of consuming sugar-sweetened beverages, and;
  2. Reporting on the implementation of the measure. Oakland City Council, however, has the final say on allocation and implementation of the tax revenue.

Learn more about the SSB Community Advisory Board by visiting these City of Oakland website pages:

fontcandy (2).jpg

The Community Advisory Board will be meting February 27th.
Time and location will be confirmed in advance by the City of Oakland.